ABOUT

UMG supports and advocates for the university museum sector in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Working alongside our sister organisation UMIS (University Museums in Scotland) we represent the interests of university museums to funders and stakeholders. We also maintain close links with the international body for university museums, UMAC.

Since its formation, UMG has established an international reputation for its leadership in advocacy of the sector by promoting the interests of university museums to Government, Arts Council and national organisations such as the Museums Association and higher education funding bodies.

There are around a 100 university museums in the UK regularly accessible to the public, with a further 300 or more that are used mainly for academic research and teaching.  More information on these museums and collections can be found in the UMAC World Database of University Museums and Collections.

University museums in England comprise 4% of the UK museum sector, yet they are custodians of 30% of all the collections ‘Designated’ by DCMS as being of national or international importance.

Who are we for?

UMG is a membership organisation, open to HE institutions with responsibility for museums, galleries or collections and individuals interested in furthering the work of UMG.

What do we do?

UMG provides a forum for communication and the dissemination of good practice.  In advocating for the university museum sector, UMG promotes the role of university museums, galleries and collections in research and HE teaching and the importance of their contribution to widening participation and public engagement.

UMG aims to provide members with briefing, news and information on a wide range of topics.  As well regular e-communication, UMG organises conferences and events, including an annual meeting linked to the AGM that supports networking, staff development and the sharing of knowledge about current developments and opportunities for the sector.

 

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Co-Chairs

Nicola Kalinsky, Director, Barber Institute of Fine Arts, University of Birmingham

N.Kalinsky@bham.ac.uk

Nick Thomas  Director, Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of Cambridge

njt35@cam.ac.uk

Secretary and Membership  Jo McPhee, Head of Programmes, University of Cambridge Museums

jm631@cam.ac.uk

Treasurer  Janneke Green, Head of Special Collections, Manchester Metropolitan University

J.Geene@mmu.ac.uk

Members

Caroline McDonald, Manager, Great North Museum: Hancock, Newcastle

caroline.mcdonald@twmuseums.org.uk

Clare Mullett, University Curator, University of Birmingham

c.r.mullett@bham.ac.uk

Xa Sturgis, Director, Ashmolean Museum, University of Oxford

xa.sturgis@ashmus.ox.ac.uk

Harriet Warburton, Research & Impact Manager, Gardens, Libraries and Museums (GLAM), University of Oxford

harriet.warburton@glam.ox.ac.uk

Carol Shiels, Senior Lecturer, Pathology Museum, St George’s, University of London

cshiels@sgul.ac.uk

Ex-offico member representing UMIS

Mungo Campbell, Deputy Director, The Hunterian, University of Glasgow

Mungo.Campbell@glasgow.ac.uk

Co-opted members

Rhi Smith, Museum Studies Programme Director, University of Reading

r.smith@reading.ac.uk

Esme Ward, Director, Manchester Museum, University of Manchester

esme.ward@manchester.ac.uk

Tannis Davidson, Curator, Grant Museum of Zoology, University College London

t.davidson@ucl.ac.uk

Kate Dunton, Head of Learning, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, UEA

Kate.dunton@uea.ac.uk

Whipple Museum of the History of Science, University of Cambridge

Whipple Museum of the History of Science, University of Cambridge